Petro, Hobbs, and Dearing Conquer Brownstown Competition for Victories

BROWNSTOWN, IN - April 24 - Randy Petro of Columbus, IN notched top honors in the UMP Modified division feature race Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. Lee Hobbs garnered the win in the Street Stock division, while Darrell Dearing scored the win in the Bomber division feature event.

Lee Hobbs and defending track champion, Brad Cummings, brought the UMP Modified feature to the green flag with Hobbs taking command followed by Cummings, Scott Patman, Petro and Greg Lee. The first caution appeared on lap 3 as fifth place running Lee’s mount stalled on the racetrack. Petro would go to the top start one lap after the restart, only to see the race slowed once again, this time for a spin by Don Fleetwood. As the race reached the midway point, the top five runners were Petro followed by Patman, Hobbs, Adam Sasser, who moved in tot he top five on lap 9 after falling to 14th at the start of the race, and track champion, Cummings. As Petro slowly began to pull away from the field, Sasser’s charge to the front continued as he passed Hobbs for third on lap 13 and took the runner-up spot from Patman on lap 16. Sasser would close slightly, but at the finish, Petro still held a comfortable advantage and took the checkered flag first in his Lightning Chassis/Bow Tie Performance #95. Sasser, Patman, Hobbs and Cummings completed the top five. Brad Thrasher, Brent Londeree, consy winner J.D. Francis, Rob Brickert, and Robbie Gullion rounded out the top ten.

Hobbs, doing double-duty on the evening, took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Street Stock feature, with Tim Clark, Matt Boknecht, Jerry Adams, and Jay Baker in tow. Hobbs, Clark and Boknecht would have a spirited battle for the top spot throughout the entire event, even as the trio raced through lapped traffic. Boknecht would edge into second and take the lead on lap 10, only to lose it back to Hobbs two laps later, but regained the lead from Hobbs on lap 13. Hobbs would make what would turn out to be the winning pass on lap 14 and the Bloomington, IN native would park his Powell Motorsports/Hobbs Chassis #0 in victory lane at the end of the 20-lap sprint. Trailing Hobbs at the finish were Clark, Greg O’Neil, Steve Hunt, and Jerry Adams, as Boknecht fell from contention with a spin on the last lap. Completing the top ten were Baker, Eddie Kindred, Kory Brown, Tom Plotz and Ryan Hehman.

In the Bomber division main event, Darrell Dearing jumped into the lead from his pole position starting spot and never looked back as he drove his #17d to a flag-to-flag win in the race. Charlie Stevens finished in the runner-up position, after trailing Dearing for the entire event. Robbie Wilson, Sam Chastain, and Jeff Helton finished out the top five. Rounding out the top ten were consy winner Tim Prince, followed by Darrell Burton, Matt Cummings, Bubba Woods, and Darren Crawhorn.

UMP Modifieds

Top Qualifier – Randy Petro – 16.144
Dash – Adam Sasser, Petro, Matt Tiller, Brian Campbell
1st Heat – Lee Hobbs, Petro, Campbell, Greg Lee, Brad Thrasher
2nd Heat – Brad Cummings, Brad Erwin, Richie Lex, Tiller, Troy Burton
3rd Heat – Scott Patman, Sasser, Rob Brickert, Brent Londeree, Don Barnett
Consy – JD Francis, Don Fleetwood, Robby Guillion, Scott Bell, Troy Woods
Feature – Petro, Sasser, Patman, Hobbs, Cummings, Thrasher, Londeree, Francis, Brickert, Guillion, Barnett, Woods, Erwin, Fleetwood, Burton, Bell, Lee

Street Stocks

Top Qualifier – Matt Boknecht – 16.816
Dash – Tim Clark, Greg O’Neill, Joe Johnson, Boknecht
1st Heat – Lee Hobbs, Boknecht, O’Neill, Tom Plotz, Eddie Kindred
2nd Heat – Clark, Jay Baker, Al Flick, Bob Bex, Roy Bruce
3rd Heat – Jerry Adams, Steve Hunt, Johnson, Kory Brown, Dave Barnett
Consy – Ryan Hehman, Mac Swim, Lawrence Holt, Jason Combs, Ray Weston
Feature – Hobbs, Clark, O’Neill, Hunt, Adams, Baker, Kindred, Brown, Plotz, Hehman, Bruce, Boknecht, Bex, Flick, Combs, Swim, Weston, Johnson, Barnett, Holt


1st Heat – Darrell Dearing, Robbie Palmer, Mike Seal, Darrell Crawhorn, Ryan Scott
2nd Heat – Charlie Stevens, Darrell Burton, Bubba Woods, Ray Weston, Matt Cummings
3rd Heat – Robbie Wilson, Sam Chastain, Jeff Helton, Paul Ortman, Robbie Walters
Consy – Tim Prince, Scott Richardson, Matt Bex, Jerry Crane, Frankie Warren
Feature – Dearing, Stevens, Wilson, Chastain, Helton, Prince, Burton, Cummings, Woods, Crawhorn, Bex, Ortman, Walters, Scott, Richardson, Weston, Seal, Warren, Crane, Palmer