O’Neal, Petro, and Clark Continue to Roll at Brownstown Speedway

BROWNSTOWN, IN – May 1 – Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN proved once again that he is one of the hottest drivers in the country, as he conquered the competition to win his third Late Model feature of the season Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. It is O’Neal’s fourth overall win for the 1999 campaign.

Other feature race winners included Randy Petro in UMP Modifieds, Tim Clark in Street Stocks, and Jim Holman in the visiting Hoosier Mini-Stock main event.

At the start of the Late Model feature, top qualifier Scott Smith took command of the field followed by Don O’Neal, Marty O’Neal, Jeff Wilson, and Mark Barber. As Smith and Don O’Neal started to drive away from the field somewhat, Mark Barber had advanced to the third spot by lap 5, and Cale Kern had also moved into the top five at this point. As the front trio ran nose-to-tail, Marty O’Neal and Kern waged war for the fourth spot trading positions on several occasions during the event. Don O’Neal continued to follow Smith for the top spot until lap 16 when he squeezed his mount under Smith exiting turn two and took the lead as the duo entered turned three. That would be the winning pass as Don O’Neal would survive a late race caution for a wreck by Mark Bechelli and Brad Borrow to drive the O’Neal Wood Products/C.J. Rayburn Race Cars #71 mount to the win. Trailing at the checkered flag were Smith, Barber, Marty O’Neal, and Jeff Wilson who edged past Kern in the waning stages of the event. Kern led the second five followed by Frankie Coomer, Richie Hedrick, Duane Chamberlain, and Brett Davis.

The UMP Modified feature also proved to be a very exciting event. Adam Sasser took the lead at the drop of the green flag and would receive loads of pressure from Randy Petro and Gary Burton during the entire event. Several cautions would plague the event, but on each restart, that front trio would pull away with Nelson Gingery in fourth and Earl Plessinger and Rob Brickert betting for fifth. Sasser would hold the top spot until lap 17, when Sasser slipped up the track a bit in turn one, allowing Petro to take the lead and bringing Burton with him to the runner-up spot. A late race spin by Alan Magner set up a two lap shootout that saw Columbus, IN’s Petro finish first for the second week in a row in his Lightning Chassis/Bow Tie Performance #95. Sasser would finish second, with Gingery, Brickert, and Brad Thrasher completing the top five. Tim Prince finished six in his first-ever Modified event, while Burton slipped to seventh in the final order after spinning on the last lap and driving away. Brad Erwin, Don Fleetwood, and Sam Brandenburg completed the top ten.

Tim Clark of North Vernon, IN would score his second Street Stock feature win of the season. The defending track champion and current point leader would win the event by leading the entire 20 lap distance, only being slowed by two caution flags during the event. One each restart, Clark would pull away each time in the Majestic Electric #1 entry. Trailing Clark at the finish was Joe Johnson, pacesetter Mike Fields, Rusty Smiley and Greg O’Neill. After a real crowd pleasing battle of several changing positions, Earl Plessinger, Steve Hunt, Al Flick, Cory Brown, and Bob Bex finished sixth through tenth.

The Hoosier Mini-Stocks were in action and Jim Holman was victorious by holding the challenges of Tom Mahoney to capture the 15-lap feature event for the division.

Top Qualifier - Scott Smith 14.759
1st Heat – Smith, Duane Chamberlain, Cale Kern, Mark Bechelli, Brian Wilhite
2nd Heat – Marty O’Neal, Frankie Coomer, Mark Barber, Brad Borrow, Richie Hedrick
3rd Heat – Don O’Neal, Jeff Wilson, Steve Godsey, Brett Davis, Todd McKinney
Consy – C.J. Rayburn, John Finn, Mike Darlage, Dusty Chapman, Greg Lee
Feature – Don O’Neal, Smith, Barber, Marty O’Neal, Wilson, Kern, Coomer, Hedrick, Chamberlain, Davis, McKinney, Rayburn, Chapman, Barrow, Finn, Bechelli, Wilhite, Darlage, Lee, Godsey

1st Heat – Adam Sasser, Earl Plessinger, Nelson Gingery, Brad Thrasher, Brad Cummings
2nd Heat – Gary Burton, Brent Londeree, Greg Lee, Levi Godsey, Brad Erwin
3rd Heat – Randy Petro, Rob Brickert, Alan Magner, Richie Lex, Sam Brandenburg
Consy – Todd Gilpin, Rick Hines, Tim Prince, Don Fleetwood, Don Parson
Feature – Petro, Sasser, Gingery, Brickert, Thrasher, Prince, Burton, Erwin, Fleetwood, Brandenburg, Lex, Parson, Godsey, Plessinger, Cummings, Magner, Londeree, Gilpin, Lee, Hines

1st Heat – Mike Fields, Earl Plessinger, Al Flick, Jerry Adams, Mac Swim
2nd Heat – Tim Clark, Cory Brown, Chris Deweese, Lou Catellier, Ryan Thomas
3rd Heat – Joe Johnson, Rusty Smiley, Greg O’Neill, Steve Hunt, Jason Hehman
Consy – Bob Bex, Eddie Kindred, Pete Smith, J.D. Roberts, Dave Barnett
Feature – Clark, Johnson, Fields, Smiley, O’Neill, Plessinger, Hunt, Flick, Brown, Bex, Roberts, Kindred, Adams, Catellier, Thomas, Smith, Hehman, Swim, Deweese, Barnett