Scott Smith Snags First-Ever Late Model Victory at Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN – August 21, 1999 – Scott Smith of Bedford, IN held off all challenges to pick up the Late Model feature win Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. The victory for the former Modified hotshoe was his first-ever win in the Late Model division at Brownstown, on an evening that saw all four divisions in action and 174 total cars in the pit area.

Smith would grab the lead right from the start of the feature, with C.J. Rayburn, Greg Williams, Dan Sturgeon, and Marty O’Neal all giving chase. The caution flag would slow the pace on lap 2 for a spin by Mark Schaefer and again on lap 4 for a multi-car incident involving Todd McKinney, Jeff Simonton, and Mike Darlage, with all three able to continue. O’Neal would snatch the fourth spot on lap 7 from Williams, lost it on lap 8, then regained the spot again on lap 9, with Sturgeon also getting by Williams and putting him back to fifth. One lap later, Steven Godsey would pass Williams and break into the top five.

Meanwhile, the battle for the lead was a two-car duel between Smith and Rayburn, with the caution slowing the leader’s pace once again on lap 13, for a spin by Rick Sowders. After the restart, Williams would squeeze back around Godsey for fifth, while the battle up front had become a quartet, as Smith, Rayburn, O’Neal and Sturgeon ran nose-to-tail, working the hub around the ¼ mile oval. Smith would stave off the repeated challenges of Rayburn to snag his first-ever win aboard his Travel World Auto Sales, Shorty’s Bar and Grill, Ikerd’s Corvette Custom Accessories #96X C.J. Rayburn mount. Rayburn would be second, with O’Neal and Sturgeon trailing. Godsey would edge back around Williams to take fifth. The remainder of the top ten would include Frankie Coomer, Todd McKinney, John Finn, and Mike Darlage.

The UMP Modified division was in action for a double track points and current track point leader, Randy Petro of Columbus, IN, would grab the lead from polesitter, Todd Gilpin, on lap 2 and keep Gilpin at bay for the second consecutive week and score his sixth win of the season at Brownstown, in his Greenwood Lawn Care, Tyree’s Trim Shop, RPR Enterprises #95 Lightning Chassis. Third through fifth would be John DeMoss, Scott Patman, and Nelson Gingery. The second five were Brent Londeree, Brad Cummings, Matt Bocknecht, Adam Sasser and Joe Godsey.

In Street Stock action, Mike Fields of Brownstown, IN would go flag-to-flag in capturing his third feature flag of the season behind the wheel of his NAPA Auto Parts of Browstown, and Seymour, MadDog Motorsports, UWE Enterprises #33 Flybyu Chassis. Chasing Fields at the finish was Matt Boknecht followed by Bret Ezzo, Tim Clark, and Rusty Smiley. Rounding out the top ten were Eddie Kindred, Perry Bruce, Steve Hunt, Dan Moore, and Al Flick.

The Bomber division would see Larry Harris take the lead at the midpoint of the feature and score his first Brownstown wins of the seasons. Trailing the Bloomington, IN veteran’s FX Underground Quality Hydraulics #67 Hobbs Chassis entry were Matt Bex, Darren Crawhorn, Frankie Burch, and Rick Applegate. Matt Cummings, Darrell Dearing, Nate Wentworth, Willie Sallee and Paul Ortman completed the top ten.

Summary - Brownstown Speedway - Brownstown IN - August 21,1999

Late Models:
Top Qualifier - C.J. Rayburn 16.055
Dash - Scott Smith, Ray Godsey, Marty O'Neal, Rayburn, Steven Godsey, Cale Kern
1st Heat - Rayburn, Greg Williams, Ray Godsey, Dusty Chapman
2nd Heat - Smith, Dan Sturgeon, Steven Godsey, Todd McKinney
3rd Heat - Mark Barber, O'Neal, Kern, Mark Bechelli
Feature - Smith, Rayburn, O'Neal, Sturgeon, Steven Godsey, Williams, Frankie Coomer, McKinney, John Finn, Mike Darlage, Dennis Boknecht, Jeff Simonton, Rick Sowders, Mark Schaefer, Bechelli, Ray Godsey, Tom Benham, Chapman, Ray Weston, Jon Dome

UMP Modifieds
Dash - Brent Londeree, Todd Gilpin, Scott Patman, Don Barnett, Randy Petro
1st Heat - Gilpin, John DeMoss, Adam Sasser, Matt Boknecht
2nd Heat - Londeree, Patman, Don Fleetwood, DJ Benham
3rd Heat - Petro, Nelson Gingery, Keith Deppe, Brad Cummings
4th Heat - Joe Godsey, Rick Gumm, Brandon Stiles, Josh Wells
1st Consy - JD Francis, Levi Godsey, Steve Trabue, John Davis
2nd Consy - Steve Maynard, Alan Magner, Billy Peeden, Brad Erwin
Feature - Petro, Gilpin, DeMoss, Patman, Gingery, Londeree, Cummings, Boknecht, Sasser, Joe Godsey, Magner, Deppe, Fleetwood, Francis, Gumm, Maynard, Benham, Stiles, Levi Godsey, Josh Wells

Street Stocks
Dash - Eddie Kindred, Dave Barnett, Al Filck, Jerry Adams
1st Heat - Mike Fields, Flick, Tim Clark, Steve Hunt
2nd Heat - Barry Gerkin, Michael Vest, Rusty Smiley, Donnie Wilson
3rd Heat - Kindred, Jeremy Hines, Randy Moore, Willie Sallee
4th Heat - Matt Boknecht, Joey Kramer, Dan Moore, Ryan Thomas
5th Heat - Bret Ezzo, Brian Robinson, Perry Bruce, Greg O'Neill
1st Consy - Hunt, Wilson, Sallee
2nd Consy - O'Neill, Jason Hehman, JD England
Feature - Feilds, Boknecht, Ezzo, Clark, Smiley, Kindred, Bruce, Hunt, Dan Moore, Flick, Kramer, Vest, Hines, Sallee, Joe Johnson, Randy Moore, Wilson, O'Neill, Gerkin, England, Hehman

Dash - Alan Martin, Darrell Dearing, Mickey Hines, Rick Wilson, Danny Sallee
1st Heat - Nate Wentworth, Willie Sallee, Martin, David Robinson
2nd Heat - Dearing, Matt Cummings, Larry Harris, Roger Absher
3rd Heat - Matt Bex, Frankie Burch, Denny Ashley, Hines
4th Heat - Rick Wilson, Bill Wilson, John Collins, Donnie Pifer
5th Heat - Darren Crawhorn, Paul Ortman, Ray Weston, Bill England
6th Heat - Bubba Woods, Rick Applegate, Charlie Stevens, Chris Streeval
1st Consy - Ryan Scott, Kevin Applegate
2nd Consy - Troy Clark, Mike Strunk
Feature - Harris, Bex, Crawhorn, Burch, R. Applegate, Cummings, Dearing, Wentworth, Sallee, Ortman, Martin, K. Applegate, Ashley, Scott, B. Wilson, Strunk, Weston, R. Wilson, Collins