Jewell Notches Fourth Y2K Win at Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Indiana-July 15- Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN notched his fourth victory of the 2000 season at Brownstown Speedway Saturday night by capturing the 25 lap Late Model feature on Grant's Auto Sales "Night at the Races". The win by Jewell marked a continued hot-streak as of late for the likable driver at various tracks across the Midwest. In other action, Nelson Gingery of Seymour, IN drove to his UMP Modified win of the season, with Robert Walters of Bedford, IN taking his third Bomber win of the year, while
Shane Hollingsworth of Indianapolis, IN topped the feature for the Kenyon Midgets.

The drop of the green flag on the Late Model main event saw current track points leader Steven Godsey take the lead followed by Mike Jewell, Marty O'Neal, Mark Barber, and Richie Hedrick. Jewell immediately began to challenge Godsey for the top spot on lap 2, while Barber would take third from O'Neal on the same lap. Jewell's rim-riding antics would see him secure the point off of turn four on lap 3, with Hedrick wanting third from O'Neal and getting it on lap 4. Barber would also go to the top shelf of the race surface and would overtake Godsey for second on lap 5. Ernie Barrow, who started 12th, was beginning to flex his muscle and took fifth from O'Neal on lap 7. By the halfway mark, Jewell was holding a five car length advantage over Barber, as Jewell would begin the process of working slower traffic on lap 15. As Jewell caught the traffic, this allowed Barber to reel in the leader and the lead pair would begin to work heavy slower traffic on lap 17. In the meantime, Barrow was continuing his charge as he now challenged Godsey for fourth, and would take the spot finally on lap 20. As the lead duo continued to dice in-and-out of slower traffic, the only caution of the race would appear with 23 laps in the record book as Gary Barrow looped his mount in the frontchute just past the start/finish line. This would set up a 2 lap sprint to the checkers that would see Jewell hold the lead over the final two circuits to grab the win in his Morgan Fine Foods, MPC Motorsports, Jewell TV, Southern Indiana Rock Drilling, LaFountain's Body Shop, Scott County Tire, Adams Fabricating #9 MasterSbilt, Cornett-powered entry. Barber would finish in the runner-up spot for the second week in a row, while Barrow's charge would net a third place finish. O'Neal would scoot around Hedrick and Godsey on the restart and take fourth, with Hedrick completing the top five. Godsey would come home sixth to head up the second five, followed by Gary Burton, Tory Collins, Cale Kern, who started 18th, and Randy Petro.

Nelson Gingery would lead all 20 circuits of the UMP Modified feature to capture his first win of 2000 at Brownstown. Trailing Gingery's Tyree's Trim Shop, ReMax, RPR Enterprises #15 entry at the checkered was Matt Boknecht in a strong run, with Brent Londeree finishing third after winning the first consy and starting 17th on the grid. The top five was completed by Troy Burton and Vernon Soeder. The quintet of Darren Davis, John DeMoss, Murl Robinson, Dave Benham, and Bradley Sturgeon would hold down positions six through ten at the checkered flag.

The Bomber main event saw Robert Walters grag the leader from early race leader Larry Harris and proceed to motor away from the pack and score the feature victory in his Terry Cummings Race Engines, EXCEL by Mike Terry sponsored #71 Hobbs Chassis mount. Matt Cummings turned in a strong run to take second, with Harris, Jim Ruddick, and Tony Mahoney completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were points leader Matt Bex, Ray Godsey, Jr., Ben Burton, second consy winner Bubba Woods, and Willie Sallee.

Kenyon Midget feature action saw 15-year old Shane Hollingsworth take the win over national point leader Billy Wease, Bobby East, Kris Deckard, and Shawn Stout. The remainder of the finishing field would be Mike Nigh, Springer Smith, Ted Sweeney, and Ron Gregory.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-July 15, 2000

LATE MODELS(32 entries)
Top Qualifer- Brett Davis
1st Heat- Steven Godsey, Mark Barber, Dusty Chapman, Davis
2nd Heat- Marty O'Neal, Gary Burton, Tory Collins, Scotty Earl
3rd Heat- Mike Jewell, Richie Hedrick, Mike Bechelli, Ernie Barrow
Consy- Dan Sturgeon, Mark Bechelli, Cale Kern, Gary Barrow, Greg Ault
Feature- Jewell, Barber, Ernie Barrow, O'Neal, Hedrick, Godsey, Burton, Collins, Kern, Randy Petro, Mike Bechelli, Mark Bechelli, Jeff Mounce, Todd McKinney, Earl, Ault, Sturgeon, Chapman, Gary Barrow, Davis

UMP MODIFIEDS(40 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Gilpin
1st Heat- Darren Davis, Murl Robinson, Steve Trabue, Dave Benham
2nd Heat- Nelson Gingery, Clint DeMoss, Alan Magner, Vernon Soeder
3rd Heat- Troy Burton, John DeMoss, Adam Sasser, Bradley Sturgeon
4th Heat- Matt Boknecht, Brad Erwin, Josh Lucas, Richard Harlow
1st Consy-Brent Londeree, Levi Godsey, Greg Lee, Gilpin, Tony McVey
2nd Consy- Bob Schrader, Joe Wilson, Eddie Kindred, Webb Lee, Tony Stigdon
Feature- Gingery, Boknecht, Londeree, Burton, Soeder, Davis, John DeMoss, Robinson, Benham,
Sturgeon, Schrader, Godsey, Harlow, Erwin, Lucas, Clint DeMoss, Magner, Wilson, Trabue, Sasser

BOMBERS(49 entries)
1st Heat- Larry Harris, Jerry Maynard, Greg Hicks, Troy Clark
2nd Heat- Jim Ruddick, Ben Burton, Jamey Wilson, Josh Hayes
3rd Heat- Robert Walters, Ray Godsey, Jr., Tim Clark, Bubba Woods
4th Heat- Matt Cummings, Matt Bex, Andrew Davis, Roger Reichenbacker
5th Heat- Tony Mahoney, Mickey Hines, Charlie Stevens, Paul Owens
1st Consy- Willie Sallee, Mike Seal, Clark, Hayes, Owens
2nd Consy- Bubba Woods, Glen Woods, Roger Deppe, Derrick Lacey, Tony Ogle
Feature- Walters, Cummings, Harris, Ruddick, Mahoney, Bex, Godsey, Jr., Burton, Bubba Woods, Sallee,
Maynard, Clark, Stevens, Davis, Hines, Hicks, Seal, Glen Woods, Deppe, Wilson, Clark

1st Heat- Ron Gregory, Shane Hollingsworth, Ted Beach, Shawn Stout
2nd Heat- Billy Wease, Bobby East, Mike Nigh, Kris Deckard
Feature- Hollingsworth, Wease, East, Deckard, Stout, Nigh, Springer Smith, Ted Sweeney, Gregory, Scott
Thoman, Jamie Williams, Beach, Ethan Porter