O'Neal, Aukland, and Miller Claim Victories on "Night Before the Jackson"

Brownstown, IN-August 11, 2000- The weekend of the 21st Annual Jackson 100 at Brownstown Speedway saw the renewal of a popular event. The return of the "Night Before the Jackson 100" took place and saw some excellent action with three Late Model features and a complete show for the UMP Modifieds. Seventy-four (74) Late Models were on hand from seven states, along with 52 UMP Modifieds in action.

The first Late Model feature was a regular show make-up event from a rainout of race action back on April 1. Eighteen cars took the green flag and the 25 lap event would be a "Real Deal" clinic as Don O'Neal on Martinsville, IN would literally run off and hide from the rest of the pack in the caution-free affair. O'Neal would lap everyone but second through sixth in the race to take his third win at Brownstown this season. The O'Neal Wood Products, Indiana Department of Tourism, Helton Transport, Kay Hardwood Flooring #71 C.J. Rayburn Race Cars entry would be trailed at the finish by John Gill, who started seventh, with Dan Sturgeon taking the third spot. Kevin Weaver would win a race-long battle with Timmy Yeager to grab the fourth position. Richie Hedrick would head up the second five, followed by first make-up consy winner C.J. Rayburn, Doug Ault, Brad Barrow, and Audie McWilliams.

The 30 lap, $1,500 to win "Night Before the Jackson" Late Model feature would see young gun Thomas Ware lead the first 14 laps before the artist formerly known as the "Fargo Flash", Rick Aukland, would overhaul Ware for the lead and never look back. With Aukland at the point, the outcome was no longer in as Aukland blistered the track the remaining 16 circuits in the "black dozen" to take the win in one of the MasterSbilt house cars sponsored by Ostrom Painting and Sandblasting, MasterSbilt Race Cars, and Malcuit Race Engines. Ware would hold off the charges of Scott James to take runner-up honors, while Mark Barber and Mike Jewell rounded out the top five. Completing the top ten were Kevin Weaver, Matt Miller, Timmy Yeager, Richie Hedrick, and Jim Curry.

The final Late Model feature was a special 20 lap event for the fastest 18 qualifiers that had never won a Late Model feature at Brownstown. The win in the event would go to fourth place starting Matt Miller of Whitehouse, OH
after taking the lead from Greg Ault on lap 2 and surviving two late race cautions to grab his first-ever Brownstown win. Miller drove the Denny Thornton owned Lo-Temp Brazing, Air Liquid, Fisher Performance, USA Propane,
Moses Construction, McDonald Refrigeration, Whaley and Son Collision #7 Rocket entry to the checkered flag first over Timmy Yeager, who started sixth, with Thomas Ware taking third. Dennis Erb and Terry English would complete the top five. The second five would be Greg Ault, Dan Sturgeon, Jeep Van Wormer, Lee Devasier, and A.J. Bingham.

The 25 lap UMP Modified feature would see Don O'Neal score his second career Modified win at Brownstown by taking the victory in the Marvin O'Neal owned O'Neal Wood Products, KH Graphics, #71 Peeden Chassis mount. Brent Londeree would make a late pass of Darren Davis to grab the second spot, with Illinois invader Denny Schwartz fourth and Adam Sasser fifth. Completing the top ten were Nelson Gingery, Matt Boknecht, Todd Gilpin, Michael Bradley, and John DeMoss.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-August 11, 2000
Late Models(74 entries)
Top Qualifer- Jeep Van Wormer
1st Make-Up Consy- C.J. Rayburn, Brett Davis, Cale Kern, Steven Godsey, Reece Riggle
2nd Make-Up Consy- Mike Jewell, Rick Corbin, Ernie Barrow, Tim Prince, Scott Smith
Make-Up Feature- Don O'Neal, John Gill, Dan Sturgeon, Kevin Weaver, Timmy Yeager, Richie Hedrick, C.J. Rayburn, Doug Ault, Brad Barrow, Audie McWilliams, Brett Davis, James Huff, Todd McKinney, Rick Corbin, Shawn Negangard, Mike Jewell, Mike McWilliams, Dusty Chapman
1st Heat- Thomas Ware, Scott James, Dan Sturgeon, Doug McCammon
2nd Heat- Timmy Yeager, Dennis Erb, Steve Barnett, Lee Devasier
3rd Heat- Rick Aukland, Mark Barber, Ernie Barrow, Shannon Babb
4th Heat- Don O'Neal, Matt Miller, Scott Smith, Terry English
5th Heat- Richie Hedrick, Tim Prince, Greg Ault, Doug Ault
6th Heat- Mike Jewell, Jim Curry, Earl Plessinger, Marty O'Neal
1st Consy- McCammon, Rick Corbin, Dick Phillips, Greg Johnson, Audie McWilliams
2nd Consy- English, Babb, Kevin Claycomb, Shawn Toczek, Gary Burton
3rd Consy- Kevin Weaver, Doug Ault, Marty O'Neal, Bob Pierce, John Gill
Night Before the Jackson Feature- Aukland, Ware, James, Barber, Jewell, Weaver, Miller, Yeager, Hedrick, Curry, English, Erb, Babb, Barnett, Plessinger, Sturgeon, Ernie Barrow, McCammon, Corbin, Greg Ault, Prince, Doug Ault, Smith, Don O'Neal
Non-Winners Feature- Matt Miller, Timmy Yeager, Thomas Ware, Dennis Erb, Terry English, Greg Ault, Dan Sturgeon, Jeep Van Wormer, Lee Devasier, A.J. Bingham, Gary Burton, Mike McWilliams, John Finn, Dick Phillips, Tim Prince, Earl Plessinger, Frankie Coomer, Mark Bechelli, Brad Barrow

UMP Modifieds(52 entries)
1st Heat- Darren Davis, Alan Magner, Adam Sasser, Eddie Kindred
2nd Heat- Brent Londeree, Denny Schwartz, Todd Gilpin, Murl Robinson
3rd Heat- Don O'Neal, Richie Lex, John DeMoss, Matt Tiller
4th Heat- Ray Humphrey, Michael Bradley, Gary Barrow, Joe Godsey
5th Heat- Nelson Gingery, Joey Kramer, Brad Cummings, Bubba Woods
1st Consy- Kindred, Bob Schrader, Robinson, Vernon Soeder, Woods
2nd Consy- Earl Plessinger, Matt Boknecht, David McWilliams, Clint DeMoss, Jay Miller
Feature- O'Neal, Londeree, Davis, Schwartz, Sasser, Gingery, Boknecht, Gilpin, Bradley, John DeMoss, McWilliams, Kramer, Plessinger, Magner, Cummings, Schrader, Lex, Robinson, Humphrey, Kindred, Barrow