The "Real Deal" Makes it Three in a Row in Brownstown痴 18th Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic

Brownstown, IN-April 7, 2001- It was the 2001 Northern All-Star Late Model Series season opener and Don O誰eal of Martinsville, IN became the first four-time winner of the 18th Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic at Brownstown Speedway. The win for the "Real Deal" marked his 35th career Late Model win at Brownstown and his third consecutive triumph in the Hoosier Dirt Classic. A total of 69 Northern All-Star Late Models were in attendance for the 2001 NALMS opener representing seven states to vie for a starting spot in the 50 lap, $5,000 to win main event.

Mike Jewell would take the lead at the start, with O誰eal, Mark Barber, Dick Phillips, and Darrell Lanigan giving chase. The caution would wave on lap 2 as Jeff Martin got crossed up exiting turn two and John Gill would meet the concrete on the backchute in his attempt to avoid an accident. Gill would go pitside and make repairs and return, as did Timmy Yeager, who pitted with a flat left-rear tire, but would also return. The restart would see Bob Pierce get by Lanigan for fifth on lap 2 as Jewell continued to set the pace up front. After a caution for debris on the track in turn two on lap 7, O誰eal would go to the lead in turn three on the restart, but Jewell would dive right back under O誰eal to retake the lead on lap 8. The lead duo would dice side-by-side for the top spot on lap 9 before O誰eal would reclaim the top spot on the 10th circuit. Meanwhile, Kevin Claycomb was pressuring Pierce for fifth and would take that position on lap 13, then would secure the fourth spot from Barber on lap 16. A caution would slow the pace on lap 17 as Yeager slowed to a stop in turn three with a broken left-rear axle. The restart would be null and void as Scott James and Dan Schlieper spun their mounts in turn two. Another failed restart saw the leader check-up at the starting cone, causing a game of bumbertag to occur and fifth place Barber would see his night end with a busted radiator as a result. The next restart would be a go and Pierce would pass Claycomb for fourth, as the caution waved again on lap 19 for a James spin in turn two. On this restart, Shannon Babb put the heat on Pierce for fifth and claimed the position on lap 22 after a side-by-side battle. At the halfway mark, O誰eal was beginning to stretch his lead over Jewell and would start lapping slower traffic on lap 30. Lap 32 saw Phillips slip out of the groove allowing Claycomb, Babb, and Pierce to sneak by last week痴 feature winner. Claycomb and Pierce renewed their battle again, this time for the fourth spot, with Pierce winning the battle on lap 36. The final caution waved with 43 circuits complete as Brad Barrow went into the spin cycle in turn one, setting up a seven lap sprint to the finish. O誰eal would again motor away on the restart, while Babb challenged Jewell for second and took the runner-up slot on lap 45. Phillips would recover from his earlier miscue and retook the fifth spot from Claycomb on lap 48, with Pierce would scoot by Jewell for third as the field received the white flag. At the duel checkered flags, it would be O誰eal in the Calvin Kenneda owned Holman Motors, Bilstein Shocks #71 C.J. Rayburn Race Cars entry the winner, with Illinois drivers Babb and Pierce rolling home second and third. Jewell and Phillips would complete the top five. Claycomb would head up the second five followed by Jimmy Mars, Lanigan, Steve Hillard, and Schlieper, who charged to tenth after coming from the back of the field twice. Heats were won by Lanigan, Phillips, Jewell, O誰eal, Pierce, and Barber. The two B-Mains were scored by Schlieper and Jimmy Owens, while NALMS provisionals went to Doug McCammon and Brad Barrow.

The 25 lap UMP Modified feature saw Matt Boknecht of Seymour, IN lead flag-to-flag to claim his second win of the year in the open-wheel division aboard his George痴 of Seymour, HMF Steel Sales, Dewalt Tools #22 Fly-By-U Race Car. Levi Godsey would survive a three-way dance to claim the runner-up spot, with Michael Bradley taking third. Earl Plessinger would come home fourth, with 17th starting John DeMoss finishing fifth. Jimmy Owens would start 19th and finish sixth, while Adam Sasser, Rusty Smiley, Brady Short, and Clint DeMoss completed the top ten. Forty-one Modifieds were on hand with heat race wins going to Boknecht, J.D. Roberts, Sasser, and Clint DeMoss. John DeMoss and Richie Lex were B-Main winners.

The 15 lap Bomber feature saw Bubba Woods, Matt Cummings, Ray Godsey, Jr., and Robert Walters each take a turn leading the event, but it would be Walters holding off a hard charging Charlie Stevens at the finish to claim his first win of 2001 in his Prince Excavating, Cummings Race Shops, Terry Cummings Race Engines, Niflis Signs #71 Hobbs Chassis entry. Stevens would finish second, while Woods, Godsey, Jr., and Cummings rounded out the top five. Completing the top ten were Matt Bex, Jeff Helton, Greg Benton, 2nd B-Main winner Clifton Barron, and Kevin Applegate. Fifty-two Bombers saw heat race wins go to Godsey, Jr., Cummings, Woods, Helton, and Walters, with B-Mains going to Barron and Larry Harris.

Racing continues this Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway featuring a regular show for Late Models, UMP Modifieds, and Bombers.

Summary-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-April 7, 2001

Northern All-Star Late Models (69 entries)

Top Qualifier- Darrell Lanigan 16.117

1st Heat- Lanigan, Kevin Claycomb, Scott James, Russ Scheffler

2nd Heat- Dick Phillips, Jimmy Mars, Steve Barnett, Dan Schlieper

3rd Heat- Mike Jewell, Shannon Babb, Steve Hillard, Ernie Barrow

4th Heat- Don O誰eal, Timmy Yeager, John Gill, Jimmy Owens

5th Heat- Bob Pierce, Jeff Martin, Dan Sturgeon, Doug McCammon

6th Heat- Mark Barber, Jim Curry, Thomas Ware, Steve Lance

1st B-Main: Schlieper, Richie Hedrick, Ernie Barrow, Doug Ault, Steven Godsey

2nd B-Main: Owens, Shawn Negangard, Doug McCammon, Gordie Seegart, James Huff

NALMS Provisionals: Doug McCammon and Brad Barrow

Hoosier Dirt Classic- O誰eal, Babb, Pierce, Jewell, Phillips, Claycomb, Mars, Lanigan, Hillard, Schlieper, Curry, Owens, Sturgeon, Brad Barrow, Hedrick, Negangard, Gill, James, Doug McCammon, Barber, Yeager, Ware, Barnett, Martin

UMP Modifieds (41 entries)

1st Heat- Matt Boknecht, Levi Godsey, Earl Plessinger, Dale Ayers

2nd Heat- J.D. Roberts, Rusty Smiley, John Gurley, Mike Bowersox

3rd Heat- Adam Sasser, Dan Hamstra, Brandon Raef, Brady Short

4th Heat- Clint DeMoss, Michael Bradley, Lee Hobbs, Murl Robinson

1st B-Main: John DeMoss, Jimmy Owens, Brent Londeree, Josh Lucas, Vernon Soeder

2nd B-Main: Richie Lex, Rodney Harris, Joe Godsey, Jay Scott, Tommy Welin

Feature- Boknecht, Levi Godsey, Bradley, Plessinger, John DeMoss, Owens, Sasser, Smiley, Short, Clint DeMoss, Roberts, Bowersox, Lex, Hamstra, Robinson, Hobbs, Gurley, Harris, Raef, Ayers

Bombers (52 entries)

1st Heat- Ray Godsey, Jr., Greg Benton, Roger Reichenbacker, Josh Hayes

2nd Heat- Matt Cummings, Matt Bex, Tony Arthur, Tim Neal

3rd Heat- Bubba Woods, Charlie Stevens, Chris Streeval, Rick Applegate

4th Heat- Jeff Helton, Kevin Applegate, Josh Turner, Robert Green

5th Heat- Robert Walters, Bobby Davis, Glen Woods, Larry Harris

1st B-Main: Harris, Jerry Maynard, Dave Robinson, Hayes, Paul Owens

2nd B-Main: Clifton Barron, Rick Applegate, Jackie Wheeler, Green, John Mayor

Feature- Walters, Stevens, Bubba Woods, Godsey, Jr., Cummings, Bex, Helton, Benton, Barron, Kevin Applegate, Rick Applegate, Harris, Turner, Davis, Maynard, Arthur, Robinson, Reichenbacker, Glen Woods, Streeval, Wheeler