John Gill Wins 3rd Straight, Denny Schwartz & Steve Godsey also Winners

July 8, 2006

John Gill of Mitchell, IN rolled to his third straight victory at Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night in the first ever Topless Late Model feature held at the speedway.

Gill led the field to the green flag with Brad Barrow and Dan Sturgeon falling into second and third positions respectively as the field completed lap one. Sturgeon attempted to put his nose under Barrow for the runner up spot, but Barrow was too strong down the straights. The field saw the first caution flag of the race on lap four, as Jeremy Masters spun in turn four. When the field took the green on the restart, Gill bolted out to a good sized advantage as the field started to spread out behind him. By the ten lap mark, Gill had a half a straight lead over Barrow and Sturgeon. With no lapped cars in the way, Gill stretched his lead over the field to a full straight by the halfway point on lap 15. Two laps later, on lap 17, Gill saw his advantage go up in smoke due to a caution involving Justin Blackwell who had spun off the turn one banking. When the green flew on the restart, a move was made for the fifth position as Rohn Moon got around Marty O'Neal for the spot coming down the backstretch. Up front, however, it was all Gill as he crossed the line well ahead of Barrow, Sturgeon, Greg Johnson, and Moon.

Denny Schwartz of Ashmore, IL made it two for two at Brownstown Speedway this year, winning the Topless UMP Modified feature at Brownstown Speedway. Schwartz won the Modified portion of the Indiana Icebreaker back on April 1st.

The 25 lap feature started off with a yellow, as Ryan Thomas found himself looped on the backstretch. When the field went green, Schwartz jumped out to the lead over Adam Sasser as they headed into turn number one. At the same time, Dan Hamstra moved up from his fifth starting spot up to the third spot by lap two. The yellow would fly again on lap three, this time for a multi car accident in turn one. When racing resumed, Schwartz sped off with the lead, with a battle for fourth raging behind him. Todd Gilpin and Shelby Miles were side by side for the spot, with Miles taking the position. Back up front, Hamstra moved to second around Sasser, bringing Gilpin and Miles with him. With Miles and Gilpin now going at it for third, this allowed the front two cars to pull away. As the lead duo of Schwartz and Hamstra started catching lapped traffic, Hamstra flexed his muscle and began reeling in Schwartz. Hamstra got up on the back bumper of Schwartz as they began lapping cars. Schwartz managed to put a lapped car in between he and Hamstra, but Hamstra was not to be detered. As they cleared the lapped traffic, Hamstra was right on Schwartz's tail until the very end as Schwartz held him off for the win. Following them were Miles, Matt Boknecht, and Earl Plessinger rounded out the top five.

Steve Godsey of Bedford, IN scored a thrilling victory in the Bomber division at the Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night. At one point you could throw a blanket over the top four cars.

Paul Owens would lead the field to the green flag with Jacoby Hines, Josh Hayes, and Steve Godsey in tow. Hayes and Godsey began a battle for the third spot, as Hines began to put pressure on Owens for the lead. The battle for third would rage on for about five laps, until Godsey could finally clear Hayes on lap six. The battle for the lead then began to flare up as Hines worked to the outside of Owens on lap seven. The duo would trade the lead back and forth on laps eight and nine, allowing Godsey to start to close in. On lap 10, Godsey made it a three wide battle for the lead, in which they stayed that way for a good two laps. When the smoke cleared, it was Owens reclaiming the lead, with Godsey second, and Hines third. Godsey turned the heat up on Owens on lap 14, moving alongside of Owens for the lead. Hines used the advantage of having the top two cars side by side to catch back up. While all this was going on, Josh Turner threw his name into the hat and tried to make it a four way battle for the lead. It was anyones race up front with just three to go. Godsey, Owens, Hines, and Turner all had a shot to end up in victory lane. When the smoke cleared, it was Godsey holding off the charges of Owens, Turner, Hines, and Hayes at the finish.



FAST QUALIFIER: Duane Chamberlain

HEAT ONE: Brad Barrow, Greg Johnson, Mark Bechelli, Duane Chamberlain, Doug Ault, Greg Ault, Derek Ramp, Duane Brown, Scott Jones, Brian Wilhite

HEAT TWO: John Gill, Justin Blackwell, Shawn Negengard, Tim Prince, Cody Mahoney, Shannon Reed, Rickey Riggle, Randey Riggle

HEAT THREE: Dan Sturgeon, Marty O'Neal, Mark Barber, Rohn Moon, Steve Godsey, Jeremy Masters, Gary Harden, Dusty Chapman, Ryan Eads

CONSI: Greg Ault, Rickey Riggle, Jeremy Masters, Gary Harden, Dusty Chapman, Derek Ramp, Randey Riggle, Ryan Eads, Scott Jones, Duane Brown, Brian Wilhite, Shannon Reed

FEATURE: John Gill, Brad Barrow, Dan Sturgeon, Greg Johnson, Rohn Moon, Marty O'Neal, Mark Barber, Duane Chamberlain, Steve Godsey, Mark Bechelli, Shawn Negengard, Greg Ault, Tim Prince, Gary Harden, Justin Blackwell, Doug Ault, Cody Mahoney, Jeremy Masters, Rickey Riggle, Dusty Chapman


HEAT ONE: Adam Sasser, Dan Hamstra, Ryan Thomas, Matt Bex, Jason Mann, Larry Schornick, Bobby Davis, Seth Voorhies, Scott Benham, John Passmore, Brian Yeatman, John Davis

HEAT TWO: Denny Schwartz, Shelby Miles, Matt Boknecht, Jeremy Hines, Jason Thomas, Travis Fleetwood, Rick Hudson, Jerry Davis, Dave Hill, Donnie Parson, Glen Thompson, Allan Adams

HEAT THREE: Chris Streeval, Todd Gilpin, John Demoss, Brent Londeree, Steve Trabue, Derek Groomer, Jesse Cramer, AJ Bowlen, Josh Eads, Sam Lee, Scott Smith

HEAT FOUR: Brandon Short, Joey Kramer, Earl Plessinger, Greg Lee, JD Roberts, Clint Demoss, Kent Robinson, Devin Gilpin, Butch Issacs, Webb Lee, Ralph Groomer

CONSI ONE: Bobby Davis, Larry Schornick, Jerry Davis, Rick Hudson, Scott Benham, Donnie Parson, Brian Yeatman, Jason Thomas, Allan Adams, Jason Mann, Seth Voorhies, Dave Hill, John Passmore, Travis Fleetwood

CONSI TWO: Steve Trabue, JD Roberts, Devin Gilpin, Ralph Groomer, Jesse Cramer, Clint Demoss, Josh Eads, Sam Lee, Webb Lee, Derek Groomer, Butch Issacs, Kent Robinson

FEATURE: Denny Schwartz, Dan Hamstra, Shelby Miles, Matt Boknecht, Earl Plessinger, Todd Gilpin, Matt Bex, Brent Londeree, John Demoss, Joey Kramer, Bobby Davis, Adam Sasser, Ryan Thomas, Steve Trabue, Jeremy Hines, Brandon Short, Larry Schornick, Greg Lee, JD Roberts, Chris Streeval


HEAT ONE: Paul Owens, Steve Godsey, Bobby Johnson, Chad Stapleton, Edgar Godsey, JJ Pfeiffer, Scott Barker, Nathan Baker, Brad Blevins

HEAT TWO: Josh Hayes, Bubba Woods, Paul Childers, Jim Pfeiffer, Jason Combs, Ben Burton, Rick Vance, Ray Weston, Mike Klyn

HEAT THREE: Brandon Norman, Jamey Wilson, Dan Londeree, Wes Tipton, Dewayne Gross, KC Littleton, Greg Baker, Terry Prince, Ryan Hirtzel

HEAT FOUR: Jacoby Hines, Doug Klyn, Josh Turner, Bub Cummings, Tory Routier, David Robinson, Randy Lawyer, Pam Johnson, Mike Bennett

CONSI: Edgar Godsey, David Robinson, JJ Pfeiffer, Tory Routier, Scott Barker, Rick Vance, Pam Johnson, Randy Lawyer, KC Littleton, Greg Baker, Mike Klyn, Ben Burton, Ray Weston, Jason Combs, Brad Blevins, Nathan Baker, Dewayne Gross

FEATURE: Steve Godsey, Paul Owens, Josh Turner, Jacoby Hines, Josh Hayes, Brandon Norman, Jamey Wilson, Bub Cummings, Dan Londeree, Edgar Godsey, Bobby Johnson, Jim Pfeiffer, Doug Klyn, Wes Tipton, Tory Routier, Chad Stapleton, Paul Childers, JJ Pfeiffer, Bubba Woods, David Robinson