Janowski Takes Brownstown Opening for Second Straight Year...
Lomax, Cain, Hines, and Reed Winners...

By James Essex

BROWNSTOWN, IN (March 15, 2014) – Joe Janowski of Carmel, IN captured Brownstown (IN) Speedway’s opening night Late Model feature event for the second year in a row on Saturday Night. Janowski took the lead on the 11th lap and had to hang on until the final lap as John Gardner Jr. of Germantown Hills, IL and Tim Prince of Heltonville, IN nearly kept him out of the winners circle.

Prince, the 2013 track champion at Florence (KY) Speedway took the lead at the start of the 25-lap main event. Prince held the point until Duane Chamberlain took the lead away from him on lap three. Chamberlain then battled with both Prince and Marty O’Neal as those three pulled away from the pack.

Chamberlain coming off the best season of his career last year was looking for his first-ever win at the historic ¼ mile oval. He held a narrow advantage over Prince and O’Neal as the first of three cautions occurred on lap eight.

After the first restart from caution O’Neal would take over the second position from Prince. A lap later is when the complete complexion of the race would change. Chamberlain would fire into turn number one and get crossways as Prince and O’Neal would pile into him. Chamberlain and O’Neal were done for the night and Prince would pit and rejoin the field without losing a lap.

On the restart Illinois driver John Gardner Jr. would inherit the point, with Janowski, who started tenth now running in second. Janowski quickly made his way past Gardner for the lead. Janowski would lead the rest of the way despite the efforts of both Gardner and Prince made a valiant last-lap charge to steal the win from Janowski but they both came up short.

“We probably had a fourth-place car tonight,” said Janowski in Brownstown’s winners circle. “Cody Mahoney came over and helped up out, he made some adjustments and got us going better, this is a new MasterSbilt car. I had sold a lot of my stuff last year, it feels good to get back behind the wheel.”

“I know it was full-moon tonight, when those top three cars wrecked, I thought I had a real good shot at winning tonight. That was some tough-luck for those guys, they were the class of the field. The track wasn’t too bad at all, there was a few rough spots out there, but with the winter we have had I think the track crew did a great job preparing the track.”

Veteran Steve Barnett of Franklin, In finished fourth followed by Mike Meyers of Fayetteville, OH.

NOTES; Janowski’s fourth career Brownstown win came in the Alan Magner owned MasterSbilt Race Car with a Bill Tranter Racing Engines. His sponsors include: Borgman Farms, Bob Poynter Ford, 31 Auto Group, C&S Prototyping, Becks Seeds, Prudential Insurance, Kendall Farms, Print Worx and NKA Insurance….Barnett was debuting a new C.J. Rayburn Race Car entry, Barnett a 4-time track champion (tied with Jim Curry for most all-time at Brownstown) has 50 career wins at the track he started his career at in 1976…Waverly, OH’s Billy Gullion was making his Brownstown debut, despite arriving late to the track, he was running fourth in the main event when he struck a tire barrier in turn two ending his night with front-end damage to his car…Brownstown will host the 17th Annual Indiana Icebreaker for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series this Saturday Night, March 22nd paying $10,000 to win.

SUMMARY 03/15/14



HEAT ONE: Marty Oneal, Chad Stapleton, Billy Gullion, Bob Gardner, Steve Barnett, Adam Bowman, Mike Meyers

HEAT TWO: Tim Prince, Duane Chamberlain, John Gardner, Greg Kendall, Joe Janowski, Rick Robinson

FEATURE: Joe Janowski, John Gardner, Tim Prince, Steve Barnett, Mike Meyers, Chad Stapleton, Greg Kendall, Bob Gardner, Rick Robinson, Adam Bowman, Duane Chamberlain, Marty Oneal, Billy Gullion

UMP MODIFIEDS (22 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Devin Gilpin, Kent Robinson, Jamie Lomax, Wes Leigh, Elliott Despain, Dennis Boknecht, Mike Bowersox, Billy Uptegraff, Jarod Fleetwood, Eli Johnson, Tim Potts-DNS

HEAT TWO: David Mielke, Joe Godsey, Randy Tarter, Jimmy Lennex, Darren Crawhorn, Keith Smith, Dj Holt, Tyler Loughmiller, Aaron Cox, Craig Conyer, Bryson Clark

FEATURE: Jamie Lomax, Devin Gilpin, Kent Robinson, Joe Godsey, David Mielke, Elliott Despain, Dennis Boknecht, Jimmy Lennex, Wes Leigh, Keith Smith, Randy Tarter, Tyler Loughmiller, Craig Conyer, Dj Holt, Darren Crawhorn, Aaron Cox, Jarod Fleetwood, Bryson Clark, Mike Bowersox, Billy Uptegraff, Eli Johnson-DNS, Tim Potts-DNS

SUPER STOCKS (15 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Kenny Carmichael, Marty Cooper, Jeremy Helton, Danny Hupp, Matt Boknecht, Jim Pfeiffer, Tom Ault, Tim Schumpe-DNS

HEAT TWO: Aaron Fields, Tyler Cain, Jeremy Hines, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Paul Ortman, Josh Mcdaniel, Scott Ross

FEATURE: Tyler Cain, Aaron Fields, Marty Cooper, Jeremy Hines, Kenny Carmichael, Jim Pfeiffer, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Danny Hupp, Jeremy Helton, Josh Mcdaniel, Paul Ortman, Tom Ault, Scott Ross, Matt Boknecht-DNS, Tim Schumpe-DNS

PURE STOCKS (15 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Mickey Hines, Chris Workman, Bode Henry, Curt Bennett, Brad Kemp, Chris Mccoy, Drew Wilkerson, Adam Losson

HEAT TWO: Dusten Carr, Michael Cranmer, Willie Sallee, Quintin Strope, Brian Smiley, Ross Smith, Brandon Gibson-DNS

FEATURE: Mickey Hines, Chris Workman, Brad Kemp, Chris Mccoy, Michael Cranmer, Drew Wilkerson, Curt Bennett, Bode Henry, Dusten Carr, Willie Sallee, Ross Smith, Quintin Strope, Brian Smiley, Adam Losson, Brandon Gibson-DNS

HORNETS (22 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Jeremy Reed, John Mayer Jr., Justin Robertson, Brian Moore, Jerry Gibson III, Stanley Lane, Chris Raines, Mark Houston, Jennifer Downey, Jason Hehman, Lucas Jackson

HEAT TWO: Greg Garrison, Jacob Owens, Austin Burton, Colton Sullivan, Keegan Cox, James Lane, Daniel Smith, Brian Mitchell, Justin Obrien, Jacob Sutton, Carrie Gilley

FEATURE: Jeremy Reed, Jacob Owens, Greg Garrison, John Mayer Jr., Justin Robertson, Colton Sullivan, Jason Hehman, Austin Burton, Keegan Cox, Brian Moore, Lucas Jackson, Daniel Smith, James Lane, Jennifer Downey, Brian Mitchell, Chris Raines, Justin Obrien, Jerry Gibson III, Stanley Lane, Jacob Sutton, Mark Houston-DNS, Carrie Gilley-DNS