Bloomquist Best in Jackson 100 for Seventh Time......
Boknecht & Schumpe Feature Winners


When Scott Bloomquist first raced at the Brownstown Speedway in the late 1980’s he took an immediate liking to the quarter-mile track and Saturday Night he won for the 13th time in his career at the Southern Indiana oval as he captured a record-extending seventh Jackson 100 event. Bloomquist, who won the event last year as well in leading 97 of 100 laps a year ago led all 100 laps this time to take home the $15,000 victory.

Jason Jameson made a late-race charge to close the gap on Bloomquist, but could never get close enough to challenge Bloomquist in the final laps as the two raced through traffic. Hudson O’Neal, the leading rookie driver on the LOLMDS circuit started on the outside of the front row and finished in third. Completing the top five were Jimmy Owens and Gregg Satterlee.

“I don’t know why they boo me as much here. I guess it’s because they have had so many good drivers from this area. I have to give it up for Hudson (O’Neal) he has really impressed me this year. What can you say about Don (O’Neal) he has always been a great competitor and he has been racing a long time. The have had a lot of good cars from this area as well. We respect everybody out there.”

“After they went out and re-worked the track I wasn’t worried about changing anything. We never considered it. The track had more traction than I thought it would. We bottomed out a few times during the race. The car was perfect. I could keep turning it and throttling it through the corners. There was plenty room to pass. You don’t have eyes in the back of your head, so you just try to do the best you can.”

Jameson put himself in contention to try and steal the win away from Bloomquist because after the last restart of the race Jameson came from fifth to second in a flash. Jameson then slowly closed ground on Bloomquist but he couldn’t get close enough to make a last-lap effort. “I want to thank the fans for coming out. I hope they enjoyed the races this weekend. I want to thank James Rattliff for giving me a chance to drive his car. Thanks to Jeff Gullett and Tim Tungate and everybody else on the crew for their help. “

“He (Bloomquist) was so good on the bottom. When I got to second, I thought I had a shot at him. If we would have had another caution I think we has a good shot at him. The car was firing off well on restarts. I couldn’t steer the car early on because the track was so fast. We weren’t set-up for it early on.”

Hudson O’Neal who made his first Jackson n100 a year ago and finished in tenth. This year he ran second for most the race and came home in third place. “For sure we are happy with this finish after last night. I can’t thank everybody enough on the crew for getting this car up front tonight. The crew spent most of last night going through notes to make the car better for tonight and sure enough they did it.”

Completing the top ten were Tim McCreadie, Darrell Lanigan, Bobby Pierce, Don O’Neal and Earl Pearson, Jr.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series - Race Summary - Saturday, September 23rd, 2017 - 38th Annual Jackson 100 Brownstown Speedway - Brownstown, IN

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scott Bloomquist / 14.346 seconds

Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Tim McCreadie / 14.721 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O'Neal, Darrell Lanigan, Tanner English, Nick Hoffman, Jeff Wilson, Austyn Mills, Shannon Babb

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Gregg Satterlee, Earl Pearson, Jr., Brian Shirley, Michael Chilton, Dennis Erb, Jr., Adam Bowman, Chad Stapleton

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Hudson O'Neal, Jason Jameson, Tim McCreadie, Josh Richards, Cody Mahoney, Matt Bex, Boom Briggs

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Gilpin, Jimmy Owens, Bobby Pierce, RJ Conley, Steve Francis, Kent Robinson, Jared Bailey

Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Nick Hoffman, Cody Mahoney, Dennis Erb, Jr., Adam Bowman, Steve Francis, Jeff Wilson, Kent Robinson, Boom Briggs, Austyn Mills, Jared Bailey, Matt Bex, Shannon Babb-DNS, Chad Stapleton-DNS

38th Annual Jackson 100 Feature Finish (100 Laps): Scott Bloomquist, Jason Jameson, Hudson O'Neal, Jimmy Owens, Gregg Satterlee, Tim McCreadie, Darrell Lanigan, Bobby Pierce, Don O'Neal, Earl Pearson, Jr., Josh Richards, Nick Hoffman, Tanner English, Steve Francis, Cody Mahoney, Dennis Erb, Jr., RJ Conley, Adam Bowman, Chad Stapleton, Michael Chilton, Jeff Wilson, Brian Shirley, Boom Briggs, Jared Bailey, Devin Gilpin

Race Statistics
Entrants: 29
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 100)
Cautions: Devin Gilpin (Lap 3); Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 14); Boom Briggs (Lap 25); Chad Stapleton (Lap 73)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Boom Briggs
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Chad Stapleton
Brownstown Speedway Provisional: Jared Bailey
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Steve Francis (Started: 21st; Finished: 14th; Advanced 7 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Josh Richards
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Josh Richards
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Hudson O'Neal
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Zach Frields (Hudson O'Neal)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #2 - 14.2027 seconds)
Safecraft Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (100 Laps)
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Scott Bloomquist
Time of Race: 37 minutes 08 seconds

"Print Worx" Modifieds (32 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Jacoby Hines, Peyton Harlow, Adam Sasser, Austin Burton, John Baker Jr., Mike Knight, Jug Wethington, Lucas Wehmiller

HEAT TWO: Tyler Nicely, Richie Lex, Rick Corbin, John Clippinger, John Demoss, Lee Hobbs, Dennis Boknecht, Tim Asbell

HEAT THREE: Bradley Sterrett, Jeremy Owens, Derek Groomer, Kyle Schornick, Brecken Prince, Dustin Golden, Hunt Gossum, Logan Mounce

HEAT FOUR: Matt Boknecht, Zach Dennis, Ben Burton, Brandon Reed, Aj Pace, Webb Lee, Christopher Cole, Donnie Fleetwood

B-MAIN: John Demoss, Lee Hobbs, Hunt Gossum, Dustin Golden, John Baker Jr., Jug Wethington, Dennis Boknecht, Lucas Wehmiller, Webb Lee, Brecken Prince, Aj Pace, Logan Mounce, Mike Knight-DNS, Christopher Cole-DNS, Tim Asbell-DNS, Donnie Fleetwood-DNS

FEATURE: Matt Boknecht, Tyler Nicely, Bradley Sterrett, Jeremy Owens, Peyton Harlow, Jacoby Hines, Richie Lex, Rick Corbin, Zach Dennis, Lee Hobbs, Brandon Reed, Kyle Schornick, Adam Sasser, Hunt Gossum, John Demoss, Dustin Golden, Austin Burton, Derek Groomer, Ben Burton, John Clippinger

"Woolston Automotive" Super Stocks (25 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Tim Schumpe, Aubrey Eagan, Jason Hehman, Josh Divine, Tom Ault, Davey Waggoner, Dave Shelton, Jason Combs, Mike Fields

HEAT TWO: Jamey Wilson, Randy Petro, Randy Brawley, Steve Hollars, Levi Lokey, Josh Turner, Tim Rivers, Jaden Mayhan

HEAT THREE: Colton Sullivan, Jeremy Helton, Tim Eddleman, Jack Frye, Justin Jeffries, David Brewer, Jt Huffman, Greg Garrison

B-MAIN: Jt Huffman, Tim Rivers, Greg Garrison, Jason Combs, Dave Shelton-DNS, Mike Fields-DNS, Jaden Mayhan-DNS,

FEATURE: Tim Schumpe, Randy Petro, Jamey Wilson, Jason Hehman, Colton Sullivan, Josh Divine, Jeremy Helton, Aubrey Eagan, Steve Hollars, David Brewer, Randy Brawley, Justin Jeffries, Jt Huffman, Josh Turner, Tim Rivers, Levi Lokey, Jack Frye, Tim Eddleman, Davey Waggoner, Tom Ault