Mike Marlar Wins Hall of Fame Classic...
Hoffman, Fields & Stalker Visit Victory Lane...

By Michael Despain

BROWNSTOWN, INDIANA – August 3, 2019 – The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would make their third and final visit of the 2019 season to Brownstown Speedway for the track’s 15th Annual Hall of Fame Classic and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would take the lead of the race from Jason Jameson on lap forty-one and drive on to claim the win and $10,000 payday.

The win for Marlar would be his first career Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series victory and would come in the seat of the Marathon Oil, Delk Equipment Sales, Mark Martin Timber sponsored #157 Rocket Chassis, Cornett Race Engines powered entry. Marlar’s victory also made him the sixth different winner in six series events contested so far in 2019.

Kent Robinson and Jason Jameson would race side-by-side on the opening lap of the fifty lap, $10,000 to win 15th Annual Hall of Fame Classic event, with Robinson leading the opening circuit before Jameson would take the lead on lap two. Tanner English and Mike Marlar would duel for the third position, with English taking the spot on lap five. Two laps later, as Jameson pulled away a bit out front, Marlar would make a move on the high side and go past English and Robinson to go from fourth to second on lap seven. Jameson would start the process of working slower traffic on lap eleven and by lap fifteen, Marlar had narrowed the distance between himself and Jameson. Meanwhile, Greg Johnson was making his way into the top five, as he would take the fifth position from Scott James on lap twelve, would take fourth from English on lap fourteen, and would snag third from Robinson on lap seventeen. Marlar would close right up on Jameson on lap twenty-three, but Jameson would work lapped traffic to perfection and pull away a bit from Marlar once again. The lead pair would put some distance back to Johnson, who ran in third, while English, Robinson, and James continued to struggle for the fourth position. Marlar would begin to look under Jameson for the lead beginning on lap thirty-five and the pair would battle for the top position until Marlar would drive past Jameson exiting turn two on lap forty-one and take the race lead. Marlar would not look back and lead the rest of the way to score the victory, with Jameson finishing second and Johnson claiming third. Robinson would make a turn four, last lap pass of English to claim the fourth position, with English finishing fifth. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Zack Dohm, James, Nick Hoffman, Devin Gilpin, and David Webb.

Further information on the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or log on to the series official webpage at

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.

BROWNSTOWN SPEEDWAY - 08/03/2019 - 15th Hall of Fame Classic - MARS Super Late Model Series

MARS Super Late Models (27 Entries)

Top Qualifier: Kent Robinson (Group A) 13.509 seconds

HEAT ONE: Kent Robinson, David Webb, Zak Blackwood, Skyller Lewis, Jared Bailey, Austin Burns, Brian Wilhite-DNS

HEAT TWO: Scott James, Devin Gilpin, Justin Rattliff, Joe Godsey, Jeff Roth, Brad Barrow, Wes Leigh

HEAT THREE: Jason Jameson, Tanner English, Zack Dohm, Shelby Miles, Zack Burton, Dusty Chapman, Chad Stapleton

HEAT FOUR: Mike Marlar, Greg Johnson, Nick Hoffman, Dean Carpenter, Steve Godsey, David Seibers

B-MAIN: Jared Bailey, Steve Godsey, Jeff Roth, David Seibers, Zack Burton, Brad Barrow, Chad Stapleton, Austin Burns, Dusty Chapman, Wes Leigh, Brian Wilhite-DNS

15th Annual Hall of Fame Classic Feature:
1. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
2. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
3. Greg Johnson-Bedford, Ind.
4. Kent Robinson-Bloomington, Ind.
5. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
6. Zack Dohm-Cross Lanes, West Va.
7. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
8. Nick Hoffman-Mooresville, N.C.
9. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
10. David Webb-Nicholasville, Ky.
11. Shelby Miles-Bloomington, Ind.
12. Jared Bailey-Bedford, Ind.
13. Justin Rattliff-Campbellsville, Ky.
14. Skyller Lewis-Brownstown, Ind.
15. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
16. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
17. Zak Blackwood-Columbus, Ind.
18. Joe Godsey-Bentonville, Ark.
19. Jeff Roth-Bentonville, Ark.
20. Steve Godsey-Bedford, Ind.
21. Chad Stapleton-Edinburgh, Ind.
22. Brad Barrow-Bloomington, Ind.
23. Austin Burns-Morgantown, Ind.

Time of Race: 13 minutes, 26 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.809 seconds
Yellow Flags: None
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Kent Robinson 1, Jason Jameson 2-40, Mike Marlar 41-50
Entries: 27
Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Overall Top Qualifier: Kent Robinson (Group A) 13.509 seconds
Highest Finishing GM604 Crate Engine ($100): None
Provisional Starters: Chad Stapleton (series), Brad Barrow (series), Austin Burns (track)

"Knight Drainage and Excavating" Modifieds (19 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Nick Hoffman, John Demoss, Derek Groomer, Caleb Demoss, Steve Haefke, Jerry Davis, Dennis Boknecht

HEAT TWO: Earl Plessinger, Jacoby Hines, Bryan Barber, Matt Tiller Sr., Jarod Deckard, Lucas Wehmiller

HEAT THREE: Ryan Thomas, Tim Rivers, Chad Combs, Brayden Watson, Aj Pace, Jarod Fleetwood

FEATURE: Nick Hoffman, Jacoby Hines, Ryan Thomas, Earl Plessinger, Derek Groomer, Tim Rivers, Bryan Barber, John Demoss, Chad Combs, Caleb Demoss, Brayden Watson, Jarod Fleetwood, Jarod Deckard, Steve Haefke, Matt Tiller Sr., Lucas Wehmiller, Aj Pace, Dennis Boknecht, Jerry Davis-DNS

"Woolston Automotive" Super Stocks (18 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Mike Fields, Matt Boknecht, Webb Lee, Tim Eddleman, Tom Ault, Sam Lee

HEAT TWO: Zach Sasser, Aubrey Mounce, Steve Hollars, Tucker Chastain, Tom Plotz, Tommy East

HEAT THREE: Tim Schumpe, Derek Clegg, Jamey Wilson, Brad Frye, Josh Divine, Matt Terry

FEATURE: Mike Fields, Jamey Wilson, Matt Boknecht, Steve Hollars, Derek Clegg, Aubrey Mounce, Brad Frye, Tim Eddleman, Josh Divine, Webb Lee, Zach Sasser, Tom Plotz, Tom Ault, Sam Lee, Tommy East, Tim Schumpe, Tucker Chastain, Matt Terry

"Pewter Hall" Pure Stocks (12 Entries)

HEAT ONE: Donnie Wilson, Josh Hayes, David Palmer, Adam Burch, Alvi Applegate, Eli Williams

HEAT TWO: Rick Gumm, Zachary Stalker, Jeremy Huebner, Michael Cranmer, Aj Warren, Mike Malcomb

FEATURE: Zachary Stalker, Michael Cranmer, David Palmer, Jeremy Huebner, Donnie Wilson, Mike Malcomb, Adam Burch, Eli Williams, Aj Warren, Alvi Applegate, Rick Gumm, Josh Hayes-DNS